The original house of Mr. Osipov was the forerunner of todays palatial building.
On the site of the former Hotel Bucharest, the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow has been writing its own history for over a decade. The exterior walls, dating back to 1898 and the reign of Tsar Nicholas II, are the only remnants of the original building.
The hotel first made headlines when its new building was erected in 1898 by the well-known Moscow architect Alexander Ivanov.
Featuring a stunning façade embellished with decorative figures overlooking the river and a more modest front for the Balchug Street side, the new building displayed architectural elements from the era of neoclassicism. This early hotel offered a diverse selection of goods and services for guests: a restaurant with a three-furnace beer brewery as well as a barber, baker and loan agency were located alongside shops selling metal goods, window shades, cheese and bread.
Following the October Revolution, the building again changed hands. From 1928 to 1932, as the Hotel Novomoskovskaya, it became a massive seven-story stone structure. In 1933, ownership transferred to Intourist, the official state tourist agency, which used the building as a dormitory before it became the Hotel Bucharest in 1957.
Since 1992 it is called Baltschugg, an the management company Kempinski assures us of high quality service.
Spectacular views of the Kremlin, Red Square and St. Basil’s Cathedral makes it the perfect vantage point overlooking Moscow’s historic centre.
Moscow’s main attractions are just minutes away, and some even within easy walking distance, the hotel’s location in the relatively quiet Zamoskvorechye Moscow district provides an opportunity to escape the hustle and bustle of the city center to a luxurious haven of peace and comfort.